Santos-Leon of Abengoa honored with RFA's 2014 Industry Award

By Renewable Fuels Association | February 19, 2014

The Renewable Fuels Association’s President and CEO Bob Dinneen presented the “RFA 2014 Industry Award” to Gerson Santos-Leon, the executive vice president of Abengoa Bioenergy New Technologies. The award was given at the National Ethanol Conference in Orlando, Fla., in gratitude for the sustained vision, innovation, and devotion to making cellulosic ethanol a commercial success.

“Gerson is truly one of the great pioneers in the cellulosic ethanol industry. His work at the Department of Energy two decades ago helped provide the scientific foundation many companies are relying upon today to move advanced biofuel technologies forward. And his continued leadership over the past 10 years in bringing cellulosic ethanol to commercial success at Abengoa is a testament to his grit, his genius and his creativity,” stated Dinneen.

Christopher Standlee, executive vice president at Abengoa Bioenergy Corporation, remarked, “Gerson has dedicated his entire career to the development of advanced and second generation biofuels, as well as the improvement of the first generation ethanol industry. I have had the pleasure of working with him at Abengoa for more than 10 years, and no one is more deserving of this honor.”

In addition to his work on research and development at Abengoa Bioenergy New Technologies, Santos-Leon served at the U.S. Department of Energy as the head of their Biofuels Program and received a degree in chemical engineering from the University of Puerto Rico.

Last year’s “RFA Industry Award” was awarded to Scott Zaremba, president of Zarco USA Inc., the first petroleum marketer to offer E15. Previous award recipients include Ron and Diane Fagen of Fagen, Inc., three-time RFA Chairman Ron Miller, managing director and co-founder of Prisma Advisors LLC., and Dave Vander Griend of ICM Inc.