IRFA elects officers, executive committee for 2018

By Iowa Renewable Fuels Association | January 11, 2018

The Iowa Renewable Fuels Association recently elected its board of directors, officers, and executive committee for 2018. Each producer member has a seat on the board and votes on officers. New officers will serve a one-year term during the 2018 calendar year.


2018 IRFA board of directors officers:

President: Eamonn Byrne, Lakeview Plymouth Energy

Vice president: Bill Howell, POET Biorefining – Coon Rapids

Treasurer: Derek Winkel, Renewable Energy Group Inc.

Secretary: Eric Hakmiller, Lincolnway Energy

Executive Director: Monte Shaw (non-voting)


The IRFA Executive Committee is comprised of the IRFA officers and other members as elected by the board. Elected to join the IRFA officers on the executive committee for 2018 are:

Past President: Tom Brooks, Western Dubuque Biodiesel

At-large: Craig Willis, Archer Daniels Midland

At-Large: Rick Schwarck, Absolute Energy


“It is an honor to be reelected to my second term as president of the Iowa Renewable Fuels Association,” said IRFA President Eamonn Byrne. “We had a number of successes in 2017– including securing another year of funding for the Iowa Renewable Fuels Infrastructure Program and protecting the 2018 Renewable Fuel Standard levels. This year we will continue to advocate for a robust RFS and state and federal policies that increase consumer access to biofuels at the pump.”