EU member states eligible for feedstock subsidies

By | March 06, 2007
The European Union (EU) agriculture ministers extended an energy crop premium to 10 new member states that don't currently benefit from it: Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Poland, Romania and Slovakia. The premium provides 45 euros per hectare for growing energy crops. The ministers also expanded the maximum area eligible to receive the benefit from 1.5 million hectares to 2 million. Additionally, member states can now grant national aid of up to 50 percent of the cost of establishing multi-annual energy crops.