Ethanol advocates urged to comment to EPA by May 15

By American Coalition for Ethanol | May 01, 2017

The American Coalition for Ethanol submitted a public comment focused on its ethanol priorities soon after the U.S. EPA formally began seeking input on existing regulations to be reviewed by its newly established Regulatory Reform Task Force. The task force was formed in response to Executive Order 13777 to evaluate existing regulations and make recommendations regarding those that can be repealed, replaced and modified to make them less burdensome.

Following the organization’s comment submission, ACE is now encouraging ethanol advocates to submit their own comments to EPA's regulatory reform effort.

Ethanol advocates are urged to address the following topics when submitting comments to EPA. 

-- Allow Reid vapor pressure (RVP) relief to E15 and higher ethanol blends. 
-- Update the lifecycle analysis of corn ethanol.
-- Modify EPA's mistaken interpretation of Section 211(f) of the Clean Air Act, because it currently limits the concentration of ethanol in fuel without cause. 
-- Streamline the approval process for high-octane fuels such as E25-40 blends. 
-- Adjust fuel economy (CAFE) compliance to allow flex fuel vehicles to utilize the same incentives that are provided to other alternative vehicles. 
-- Discontinue use of the MOVES2014 emissions model until a new emissions study based on real-world test fuels and methods is conducted.

“It’s imperative for advocates of this industry to take advantage of the opportunity to provide input to the Trump Administration on the kind of regulations that are limiting ethanol’s ability to grow in the marketplace,” said Brian Jennings, ACE executive vice president. “This is a golden opportunity for the Trump EPA to hear directly from those in rural communities—farmers, ethanol producers, retailers and others—who can share their personal experiences on how certain regulations are holding them back.”

To submit comments on regulatory reform, please visit ACE’s Call to Action portal here. The comment period is open through May 15.